News Archives

The following archived news items are listed by date.  For even older articles, scroll to the bottom of the page and select postings by month and year.

2010 Conservation Award Winners Announced

March 2, 2011 12:00 AM

Ted Falgout, retired executive director of Port Fourchon and long-time advocate for coastal restoration in Louisiana, has been chosen to receive the Governor's Award - Conservationist of the Year for 2010.

The award, a handsome statuette of a bald eagle, will be presented the evening of Saturday, March 19, at a festive banquet held in conjunction with the Louisiana Wildlife Federation's 72nd convention March 18-20 at the Alexander Fulton Hotel in Alexandria, Louisiana. The Governor’s Award is presented annually to the person or organization deemed to have made the most outstanding contribution toward the protection and wise use of the state's natural resources - air, soil and minerals, forests, waters, fish and wildlife from among nominees submitted by the public.

The selection for this and 7 other awards was made by a panel of independent judges with expertise in a wide range of conservation fields. Falgout was the executive director of Port Fourchon for 31 years until retiring from the position in late 2009. Throughout his three decades as port director, he served on numerous state and local commissions and has been a vocal and prominent advocate for coastal restoration at the state and national level. While managing the growth of the port, he consistently encouraged conservation efforts and supported restoration projects in southeast Louisiana.

In 2010, he was appointed to the newly-created Louisiana Oyster Task Force, continued working with America’s Wetland Campaign, served as a board member for Restore or Retreat, served on project evaluation teams for coastal restoration projects, lent his knowledge and expertise to guide tours for leaders who can influence coastal issues, and worked with the Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office to support the response to the recent Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.

Four other individuals and three organizations will also be recognized by the Louisiana Wildlife Federation for their outstanding conservation achievements last year. They are:

Michael Carloss of Baton Rouge, biologist director for the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Coastal and Nongame Resources Division, for his role in implementing a wildlife rescue response to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill and developing habitat restoration plans;

Kenneth Sayes of Woodworth, owner of Sayes Office Supply in Alexandria, for volunteering his time and leadership skills to encourage local youth to participate in outdoor events; Future Leaders of America’s Gulf (FLAG), a youth organization in Houma started by high-school students in response to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill, for educating youth at the local and national level through media and social networking about the issues facing the future of the Gulf of Mexico; ExxonMobil Baton Rouge Complex for developing and implementing a wildlife restoration plan for ten sites in Louisiana through the leadership of its Wildlife Habitat Team and in partnership with Southern University;

Amy Griffin Ouchley of Farmerville for her environmental education leadership as a biology teacher, workshop instructor, and Volunteer Environmental Education Director for Black Bayou Lake National Wildlife Refuge;

William “Billy” Nungesser, Plaquemines Parish President, for developing the Parish Strategic Implementation Plan to proactively address coastal restoration and for his advocacy and leadership during the Deepwater Horizon oil spill to protect the coastal marsh of Plaquemines Parish;

The First Presbyterian Church of Bayou Blue for advocacy efforts at the regional and national level that explain the importance of Louisiana’s wetlands and the need for coastal restoration by hosting national and international citizen leaders, visiting other coastal sites facing coastal erosion, and supporting local conservation projects.

To find out more about the awards banquet and other events of the Louisiana Wildlife Federation’s 72nd Annual Convention, please click here.

« Return to Previous Page

News Archives