News & Resolutions

LWF Invites Your Nomination for 52nd Annual Governor’s State Conservation Achievement Awards

December 28, 2015 2:30 PM

Nominations due February 11, 2016. Download the nomination form

Those interested in donating can download the Banquet Sponsor form.

The awards program seeks to recognize those individuals, organizations and businesses that have made a significant and outstanding contribution toward the protection and wise use of Louisiana’s natural resources in 2015. Each honoree will receive a handsome wildlife statuette. Winners will be honored at a banquet in Baton Rouge on April 2, 2016.

Self-nominations are welcome as are those submitted by others. Nominees are encouraged to cooperate in providing adequate background information in support of their nomination.  Please visit for tips on creating a nomination and program rules and procedures.

Award Categories to Recognize Significant Conservation Achievement in 2015 include:

Category # 1 – PROFESSIONAL

For outstanding accomplishments by a person who, in a compensated professional capacity, has made a significant contribution to the management, enhancement, or protection of  Louisiana’s fish, wildlife, air, water, soil or forest resources, or related recreational opportunities.

Category # 2 – VOLUNTEER

For outstanding achievement during the year in the management, enhancement, or protection of Louisiana’s fish, wildlife, air, water, soil or forest resources or related recreational opportunities by a person acting in a volunteer capacity.

Category # 3 – YOUTH

For outstanding conservation work by a youngster (18 years of age or younger) or youth group.  The winner should have demonstrated leadership and accomplishment in any phase of conservation.

Category # 4 – BUSINESS

For significant achievement by a business in pollution abatement, land use planning and management, conservation education/awareness, habitat stewardship including providing lands for wildlife conservation and public recreation, etc. (This category is to honor a company, not an individual person.)

Category # 5 – EDUCATOR

For outstanding performance in conservation education by a professional or volunteer.  Instructors of hunter safety and outdoor ethics are eligible in this category as are teachers of the natural sciences, fish and wildlife management, environmental design and management, various aspects of environmental education, etc.  Emphasis should be on teaching and working with students or the public rather than on research or administration.


For outstanding conservation achievement by a local, state or federal elected official.  All Louisiana elected officials, except the Governor, are eligible in this category.


For outstanding work by a writer, reporter, radio or TV broadcaster, photographer, artist, cartoonist, radio or TV station, newspaper, website or other publication in creating  public awareness of the importance of environmental quality and natural resource conservation or making a significant contribution toward the solution of a major conservation problem in the state.

Category # 8 – ORGANIZATION

For outstanding conservation achievement by a state or local organization, including but not limited to civic organizations, environmental groups, sportsmen’s clubs, garden clubs, etc., in addressing significant natural resource management and environmental quality challenges.  In special cases where government agencies or institutions have accomplished extraordinary work above and beyond their normal responsibilities, such organizations will be given consideration for this award.


For outstanding overall conservation achievement. The  Governor’s  Award recipient  is  selected   by   the   judging committee   from   among   the   category winners. Nominations are not accepted for this award.

Program Rules and Procedures

1) Winners may not be named in every category. Recognition will be based primarily on accomplishments during 2015. Prior records may be considered, but this will be left up to the judges. Immediate past winners are not eligible to succeed themselves in the same category of accomplishment for which they were recognized the previous year.

2)  Nominations may be hand-delivered or sent by USPS mail or other delivery service to the Louisiana Wildlife Federation at the address on the nomination form.  They must be postmarked on or before midnight February 11, 2016.  Nominations may also be submitted vie email.

3) An essay of achievements should be attached to the nomination form for the nominee.  The essay should describe the nominee’s accomplishments in 2015 (and previous years if relevant), including A) an explanation of their significance or impact and B) why the nominee’s accomplishments are important and worthy of recognition.  The essay is required and should not exceed 3 single-spaced typed pages.  Information such as past recognition, organization memberships, etc. may be appended to the essay.  Documentation of accomplishments such as news articles, letters of support, photos, etc. should be included as a supplement to the essay. If a nomination is submitted for more than one category, a separate nomination form and complete essay must be submitted for each category entered.  If available, please include a photograph of the nominee with the nomination and email to

4) Nominations that do not meet all standards and criteria will be returned to sender to be resubmitted with appropriate additions/modifications.  Program judges may declare any nomination ineligible if proper documentation and supportive materials are not included.  The decision of the judging committees will be final.

Want tips about writing the nomination letter and an example from a past award nomination? Check out the links here

Read about last year's award recipients here.

Interested in becoming a LWF Banquet Sponsor?

Fill out the Banquet Sponsor form and email it to or mail to:
P.O. Box 65239
Baton Rouge, LA 70896

We appreciate our sponsors and their support for this worthy recognition program!

LWF Conservation Awards Committee Members:

Barney Callahan, Chair
Paul Coreil
Marty Floyd
Torrey Hayden
Hansel Harlin
Joe L. Herring
Stacy Ortego (staff)
Rebecca Triche (staff)

« Return to Previous Page

News Archives